Portland International Auto Show

Posted: January 27, 2010 in Event
Tags:

Well today was magnificent! As soon as I walked through the doors, I¬†found Ryan Douthit from http://www.drivingsports.com¬†and let me tell you, he is cool as anyone I’ve met.¬† He¬†was hanging out with Paul Eklund from Primitive Racing.¬†¬†I have¬†met¬†Paul before, but since he was the only guy in¬†yellow WRX¬†rally car, and I¬†was just another rally fan, I¬†don’t think he remembered me.¬†¬†He will now.¬† Ryan also introduced me to Chris Miller of Mastermindvideo.com. Chris was there representing Oregon Live.¬†¬†Ryan told me that they have been working together when he is in the area, and I¬†look forward to sharing some stories¬†(and maybe b-roll) with Chris.

Next I spent some time talking about how the local prius crowd should try a real electric car with Jon Taylor, Regional Sales Manager for Tesla.  You can tell he loves torque.  We were getting ready for the Charity Preview to start, and spent some time talking with Kay Weber-Ekeya, Public Relations Rep from the Shriners Hospitals.  She must be the nicest person Portland.

After the initial speech recognizing Ed Tonkin as the incoming president of NADA, and Kay thanking everyone for the support, the show was officially open!  There was lots of great food, free drinks, and amazing automotive displays.  Of course, I sprinted (ok, well not sprinted) to the Subaru display where I met Anthonia Kitchen, the Subaru Exhibit Manager.  She is WONDERFUL.  Dynamic and funny, (Anthonia, not me) I was eventually able to extract some of her back ground. Soon you will be able to see her in Trust  http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1529572/ directed by David Schwimmer (yes, its Ross) where she plays a Forensic Nurse and she is in the current movie Up In The Air.  Did I mention that she was also Miss Michigan USA 1988?

After filling her ear with lots of local tidbits, I wandered back over the open bar (soda only thanks) and I came across, Shauna Parsons and Wayne Garcia from KPTV.  It was great for me because I am a fan, and watch the local Fox affiliate every morning. Instead of the normal fanboy exchange I would meter my words to avoid, when I introduced myself, THEY KNEW ME!  Now I have had quite a few twitter exchanges with Shauna, so I was not totally surprised (just mostly surprised.) On the other hand, I think Wayne and I have only exchanged tweets once or twice, but Wayne told me that he remembered me because I made an impression since HE just bought a 2010 Subaru Outback. 

They flashed the lights and gave us the 5 minute warning just before 9pm, so I left slowly.¬† As I¬†found my exit, I was thinking, “I wonder if I¬†could just sleep the night in that STi.”

Thanks to Jenifer from Paragon, and Teresa from the Northwest Automotive Press Assoc. for the access, and a great day.

The next 4 days promise a lot of fun, so come on out, and I will see ya at the show!

Leave a Reply

